About the Greater Milwaukee Synod

Per the Greater Milwaukee Synod website:

The Greater Milwaukee Synod (GMS) is a geographic grouping of congregations, extending from Sheboygan down to the Illinois border and from Lake Michigan to the western edge of Waukesha County.  We are one of 65 synods of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA). 


This synod is made up of 124 congregations, 2 Synodically Authorized Worshiping Communities, and 71,849 baptized members in southeastern Wisconsin led by Bishop Paul D. Erickson and a 17-member synod council.  

Learn More

For more information about the Greater Milwaukee Synod, visit